Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Three Stalkers

What a weird weekend this is going to be. Up and down emotionally... Tonight is Lea's going-away party, her mom and niece arrive tomorrow. Saturday she leaves DC for good (barring visits) for New York. Saturday is also the Plan show at the Black Cat. Which is going to be fan-fucking tastic. Have i told you just how very very very excited i am to finally see the alkaline trio? Sunday i am going to go see a show at Wooley that Kirk Jackson is in. Kirk is the coolest. Hope i get to work with him again. He was the director of Strange Interlude. There's a lot of good stuff going around about Strange Interlude, and I am soooo happy for WSC. First, because they paid me, and i could cash the check, second, because they really need some good press, and third, hopefully i'll get to work there again. Provided it's a Count Snatchula-free show.

It's not worth working with her again.....ever.....

I just realized that i probably shouldn't have written such a complete itenerary of my weekend. Good thing i don't really have a stalker...Those of you who have seen me in real life know that i am uncrushworthy/ virtually unstalkable....but little do you know.

I have had three stalkers in my life thus-far. And the wild thing is, they all began facelessly.

The first one was when i worked for my school's radio station. My junior year, i had to do a happy-pop-y morning show (from 10 am-1 pm)(in addition to my evening semi-punk show) so i would get a lot of calls from awake and alert students. One of them, i guess took a weird liking to me, and found out my phone number....which wasn't so hard, or weird, but it was non-published, and i moved once during the school year. He wasn't bad, he just wanted to meet and whatever, but i am ridiculously shy and he seemed kinda...well....mentally unstable so i demurely declined every time.....a lot of times. Eventually the semester ended, and when i returned to school in the fall, i lived off campus and the phone was in the name of a roommate *and* i was able to shed that dreadful morning slot, and was able to solely concentrate on my evening slot which was thursdays from 11 pm to 2 am. Where i got calls from sleepier and more um..."altered" students. That was also the year that i became the program director, so i spent a lot of time in the office. Senor Stalker from the previous year, i guess figured out who i was and there was this weird contfrontation, but nothing became of it; because i think he surprised himself and didn't know where to take it...also because he now knew what i looked like and was probably disappointed. It happens. I would be disappointed too. I am. Every day i look in the mirror- but wait! it gets better...During the summer, i worked for Princeton University's radio station 103.3 WPRB. Man, do i miss that place. So...i think i actually say my last name on air because a) i didn't go to princeton, and i think there's an assumption that most of the on-air talent are students. And most of them are. b) i didn't even live in New Jersey (my parent's house was not that far from Princeton (maybe 15 min) so basically, i was not worried.

As i prepared to move to ohio in september, i announce on-air that i have 2 shows left and i get a phone call from a guy named daniel boone (no lie). Daniel is nice, daniel is sweet, daniel is southern and new to the area after having moved to NJ from North Carolina. He would call and always request something kinda....well....eh. Like "sunshine smile' by Adorable. Fine enough song, but brother....when i'm playing gorilla biscuits and MX-80 sound....get with the program y'know? So i would always play his requests and my second to last show, he called and asked me out to lunch. I said i didn't really think so, but he gave me his number and if i changed my mind, to give him a call. i did think about it. perhaps it was a missed opportunity..but weird y'know? Being on radio was probably as famous as i'll ever be and that's fine. When you're on the radio, listeners develop a very one-sided relationship with you. You become part of them; although you don't know it. They form opinions about you- your age, what you look like, and there's nothing you can do to stop it. Short of actually meeting them in person. So my last show, Daniel calls and repeats that he'd really like to meet and have lunch, and i appologize, but i really did loose his numer, and holy cow am i busy and and and.... so this guy shows up at the station (which is in the basment of founder's hall- a dorm. i don't know how the fuck he found it, or even got in, but all of a sudden, this man with an armful of gladiolas and flowers appears. Totally.

i felt so bad. there i was. nasty and sweaty and wearinig my pittsburgh narcotics t-shirt, hair in pigtails....playing Unrest...and he's trying to give me flowers. I think he too, was disappointed by what he saw.

I will not reveal the third stalker, because i think he's still in DC. And it's been almost a year since i've heard from him. and i don't wanna jinx it, y'know? But tonight, if i'm lucky...mayhaps one of my crush boys will be at Lea's party. She told me she was going to call him last night....I hope she did. She really wanted us to get together. I don't think it would work out, but i'm always up for a little snog session....Dig? Totally.

21:53:55 - 2000-06-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity