Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

don't tell me i'm breaking the mould, when i'm just doing what comes naturally

this is just a reaction to some stuff i've been reading lately. Incase any of you missed the post yesterday, there was a terribly funny article in the magazine section about a woman going to a store to buy a cell phone. What she wrote was so timely to what i have been feeling lately.

it's probably still available on line at washingtonpost.com, but i saved it if anyone's really interested in reading it.

http://washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A7422-2000Jul8.html

i don't know if that will link or not, you might have to copy it into the address space on your navigating thing

Please don't make me feel like a statistic. As if i'm filling some niche. I'm not doing anything new or strange or avant garde. I'm just doing what i want, what comes naturally, what fascinates me, whatever makes me happy.

Don't codify what i'm doing by praising me for 'breaking out' of some mold that i wasn't aware existed in the first place. I'm just doing what comes naturally.

I am beth. Just beth. Sometimes what i do is good. Sometimes what i do is awful. But what i do is...well....just what i do. By slapping the 'isn't it great you're doing __________, because you are, after all, a GIRL' makes me feel smaller. It puts too much signifigance on steps that i would have taken without any thought. But now they feel heavy and laboured.

Celebrate my successes as a person- not by the colour of the blanket that i was wrapped in when i came home from the hospital.

I don't let (some) words hurt me. Words will hurt you as much as you let them hurt you.I am not, by any means, devaluing words. There's a reason the cliche 'mightier than the sword' exisits, but at the same time, one person calling me one name isn't going to do anything...Other than make me think less of you.

xoxo

beth b.

17:35:24 - 2000-07-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity