Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

another person seeking advice!

More questions! Yay!

Dear Miss Manners,

Recently, the exroommate of one of my best friends(who I have previously had no problem with) emailed me to completely insult my friend. There are too many details to list here, but rest assured the insults were (almost) completely unfounded. I took umbrage to

his having contacted me and not my friend directly, so I sent him a mature, eloquent email that only once resorted to the phrase 'fuck you'.

My question is this: Did I respond with the proper mix of anger/maturity. My alternate responses to his email

would be a.) Sitting down in a nice restaurant and calmly discussing our differences like men. And then

going dutch on the bill. Or, b.) egging his house.

Well...hmmm....I personally am not one for confrontation, but i am getting better at it, so this excites me...kinda. The true deal is, i can't tell you if i thought you were mature with out the (alas sordid i'm sure, but still needed) details. Resident Boy in the Room (RBitR) says 'can't you just ignore the dude?' but i know some transgressions against pals can not go by without some form of backlash, lest the both of you look like (oh, let's just say it, we're all friends here) pussies.

If someone trashed my best, i would have deftly responded. but mostly from the pity-thou point of view. after all, person 'A' who is having trouble with person 'B' circumvents whatever the real issue is by going to person 'C' is a little daft in the head. Unless person 'A' sees person 'C' as an ally in which 'a' would have been seeking agreement over whatever offensive habits 'b' drudged up.

The polite answer, and if you're really not friends with A, i think would have been something like:

I don't know why you chose to contact me and not B directly, but I should tell you that by airing your laundry to me and not B, i find you even more of a manipulative and arrogant stiff than before. Please don't contact me again.

I, however, always lacking manners, would have probably used the choice explative and further blocked this persons correspondance. whether you tell b or not is up to you. if it's dumb and lame i would let it pass thinking it's not worth worrying b over. if it's real vile and unbased however, i would warn b, because 'A' might be persuing other avenues to trash 'B'.

good luck

beth

10:25 a.m. - 2001-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity