Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rapture- dewey redman

i can't shake this horrible feeling that i am completely screwed.

also, here's a useless fact for the day: a whale can shout 500 times louder than you. and he's in the parking lot waiting to take you on, so go get him, tiger.

also- if you were going to shell out 10-12 bucks on a tshirt commemmerating a really cool summer concert thing, what color would you want that tshirt to be.

for real, i need to know, so sign the guest book, drop a note, send me a smoke signal, whatever. just let me know

song #3 that made me listen: Booty (i think that's how he spells it) by dewey redman.

again, in the car, driving home, around 7 pm in athens ohio 1997. Ohio U. has an fm station and an am station and about a half-dozen cable stations that played the indie rock, but the fm station in the evening woulod switch from NPR to jazz. sometimes they played rock, but they were really awful and basically *handed* you a list of what you should play and when so that's where i stopped doing the radio. no one was going to make me play poe or jewel or any other crap i didn't want to hear myself.

so, i'm driving, and this song came on. i don't know a lot about jazz. i guess my tastes are kind of mainstream, really. (not kenny g mainstream, but not terribly esoteric jazz. were to to go through my records you'd find a couple stan getz, some thelonius monk, coltrane's blue train, i think the most adventerous jazz cd i probably have is a don cherry disc given to me by an old boyfriend. unless i've sold it.) but this song that came on, it just floored me. i actually had to pull over just so i could sit still and listen.

actually, the same thing happened to me not too long ago when i was home visitng my parents and WPRB (princeton's radio station that i DJ'd for)(see? they spoiled me..) played the Rapture's Out of the races and on to the tracks.

actually, the rapture song *still* makes me loose my mind when i hear it. you can't *not* move your body when that song plays. you just can't.

but i haven't been able to find that dewey redman song again.

9:12 a.m. - 2001-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity