Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wanted: an assistant with smooching benefits

we had snow yesterday! no (official snow day, i still had to go in for part of the day...) so i celebrated with hot cocoa and taped episodes of clarissa explains it all when i was home.

some nerdy wonk has sent someone a virus so the computer in my office is all gunked up and claiming no knowledge of a modum, so i can't reply to my email as easily as i would like to, so let me say this here:

JJ!!!!!! HOLY CRAP! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think on monday all will be better in the land of computers and systems and i will be happy, because right now, i have to read my email on a black screen and everything contains brackets and the words "boarder' and 'margin'. i guess that's html, but i can't read a lick of it. and it's at my bosses computer and his is gross with his balled up paper towels and half-sipped glasses of water.

and speaking of my boss....

so, on wednesday, i had to drive my boss to frederick md, to look for an affordable jacobean chaise for our production of Silent woman. and on our way into town, the man wants to stop at cracker barrel. which, really, was ok. i had potato soup and they sell jadite there, so the place can't be totally evil, right? and he starts saying stuff like how 'another person in his life would drive him crazy' and blah blah blah, he's been alone so long, blah blah blah and THEN he says 'you watch, it'll happen to you too'. or maybe i'll give him the benefit of the doubt in saying "if you're not careful, you'll end up like this too' or something.

either way, it freaked me out. i just sat there eating my potato soup and wondering if he was right. half of my mailing list for my christmas cards this year includes an "and" in the address. i'm just a miss or Ms. i'm only an 'and' if you count my cat, and that's even more pathetic. i don't think i could eevn live with a roommate ever again.

i should have dumped my soup in his lap, but i know he's right. and that's the scary thing.

i don't want to be completely impossible or utterly unlovable. it's a feeling that's been nagging at me more and more as i watch people going through things like sharing tasks with people when i end up doing them all by myself. which sort of gives me a feeling of achievement, but really, carrying a chair 8 blocks with someone would be a lot better.

maybe what i really need is an assistant with smooching benefits.

7:23 p.m. - 2002-12-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity