Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no bad poetry here...

it dawned on me the other day, after reading yet another ridiculous Michael Dirda quote another friend posted in his blog, that I haven't read any contemporary poetry in at least a decade. I haven't really sought it out. I certainly haven't bought it (unless you count the few times something sneaks into McSweeney's or the Believer).
Not that I use to consume a lot of poetry, but there was certainly an appreciation for it. And a number of books on my shelves. But the most recently published volume was in 1990.
Now when I see words in the shape of a poem, my reaction is an eye roll and a quick flip of the page.
Maybe Michael Dirda is right about me. But I hope not.
now the friday 5:
1. What are you most self concious about?
um...everything. i guess mostly my appearance.

2. What's your favourite word?
right now it's cahoots

3. What's your biggest fear?
cockroaches. as long as sadie promises not to eat my face off, i'm actually ok with dying alone....although i am worried about what would happen to sadie so i guess if face-eating helped with her survival, i could forgive her.

4. What's the weirdest thing ever to happen to you at work/school?
hunting through a dusty warehouse for old toilets was pretty weird. also the time i was on a film shoot and met a ghost. that was weird too. and i had my photo taken with anthony hopkins. that's kinda weird too.

5. If you were going to have a revolution, what kind of society would you create?
one where rent couldn't exceed a limit based on square-footage. one where pumpkins grew all year round. one where short little round girls are prized and loved for their wit and mad gardening skills and who cares what they look like

7:57 a.m. - 2005-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity