Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

modern art makes me want to rock out

i know college isn't for everybody. i know that. i do. i also know that for some people (*ahem*) college was a great turning point in their lives.
so it really befuddles me when i read things like Jean Marie Laskas' article last sunday in the WaPo mag. about the current attiudes of college students. Basically, a student missed class and asked the teacher for a summary of what she missed and the teacher (rightly) suggested going to another student for the notes, as it's not his problem if she misses class, she writes something snarky back, he writes back to her (ok, I should also note, that at the time i was in college (graduated 1995) I was just getting on to the whole email thing but the thought of emailing a professor is mortifying. seriously. mortifying); anyway, the professor writes back to the girl an apparently long dissertation about how disrespectful she was being and the student's attitude is "whatever. i'm the customer".
I'm the customer?!?!?!?! that baffles my mind. You're paying to learn, true. But it's a fucking privilidge. And then today I had a perplexing conversation with my friend chris about her design students up in Maine, and then a mere half hour ago, I find out that my little friend G. has dropped out of college because "all of his classes were in the middle of the day".
uh-huh. yeah, i got that...that's...when...classes...are typically scheduled. so he'd wake up, go to class, and then have to do homework (imagine!) which cut into his social life and he just wasn't having any fun.
and i get that...i do. there were definite times when college was not fun. but i was learning. and that's all i had to do. learn. classes. think. i hardly had to worry about bills thanks to my grandfather. but i can't even imagine the luxury of the time to think. i'm fucking looking forward to jury duty tomorrow for the sheer purpose of sitting in that stupid waiting room for my number to be called with a book and some non-aggressive knitting and just....thinking.
it makes me really sad- this weird entitlement kids today have. and i'm only 33! (i'd like to think) not so much older than these 20 year olds just throwing this shit out the window like it doesn't matter....oh my god, it's making me crazy.
i'm seriously looking forward to jury duty like a long car ride. and going to the joseph cornelle exhibit.
mostly the cornelle.
modern art makes me want to rock out. (i have art brut stuck in my head)

5:30 p.m. - 2006-12-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity