Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all about my 5-year old hernia experience

is it wrong to like non-relatives children more than your relatives children? this weekend i went over to T's to play with her kids. Actually, i went to see if i could do anything constructive like walk their dog or help with anything. T has a pair of twin girls and one had a hernia operation on thursday and is on the mend (i perhaps feel a little bit of an affinity to her since i was also born with a hernia and had to have it operated on. also around valentines day. It's funny how much of that i remember. I remember doctors visits with them pressing on my tummy and i never knew why, i remember skipping across the room in kindergarten and then just BAM! hitting the floor in pain. i remember the face of the asian doctor pressing on my belly and asking if it hurts and me croaking out 'noooo' and my mom smacking me and saying 'TELL HIM IF IT HURTS' and then croaking out 'yeaaaassssssss'. I remember the nurse telling me all the nice dreams i was going to have if i inhale the gas in the mask, i remember the taste and smell of the gas, i remember dreaming about frankenstein (which wasn't unusual. I dreamed about movie monsters a lot when i was young. i think it's from all the old movies i use to watch on channel 48 growing up) I remember my dad having to sleep on the avocado green and white fold-out beach chair that always reminded me of string beans. i remember how tired he looked when he asked if i wanted the barbie town house or the barbie camper van. i remember thinking long and hard before deciding on the town house thinking it was a better value. (and then feeling kinda gyped because it was all flat photos. and the string that pulled up the yellow plastic elevator constantly broke so it became a magic flying elevator which was probably better anyway). I remember learning to cut hearts in kindergarten and then all the 'get well soon' notes coming from my classmates in the shapes of hearts. i remember the huge bandage and the way the iodine colored the bandage and my skin and being told i couldn't ride my tricycle for three weeks and being told that 'by the time i was married the scar would be a small white line'. it's not. it's still pretty lumpy. and makes my stomach pucker in in a way that i've always been really self-conscious of.)

Anyway, so I went to T's apartment on saturday and ended up playing with the non-hernia twin and it was just...fun. The girls are almost 2 and they're so funny and smart. And when you ask them what your job is, it's always something like 'you make butterflies' or bubbles. Which is probably appropriate for 2 year old girls. That's when your world is all about butterflies and bubbles and magic and you don't have to deal with computers and math and traffic.
They live across the street from meridian hill park and i kind of can't wait to take them there and blow bubbles at the joan of arc statue that has lost her sword.

12:04 p.m. - 2008-02-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity