Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh, Ivy-leaguers....

the last week...particularly the last two days all i've been thinking about is chicago. it's almost sick. i've been daydreaming of its buildings and what i'm going to do, i've been carrying around a tiny notebook (a really cheap-0 version of a moleskine so stuff it stuffwhitepeoplelike.com) noting things i want to go to (like the new-ish textile outlet, bars, cupcake places, galleries).
Yes. When let loose without schedule or deadlines I go to galleries, museums and search out cupcakes. I am predictable.
I've been scouring Yelp for things to do and places to go dutifully writing each thing down in my nerd-book.
I haven't told devin i'm going yet. i don't think it'll be a big deal- i'm more nervous about my garden....if anyone reading this is in the vicinity of my house- water my front garden, would ya? like maybe saturday or sunday? the hose is on the front of the house on your right if you're facing the house.
my zinnias will thank you immensely.
my zinnias which, incidentally, have been really anemic this year. it's kinda disappointing.
so maybe if i come back tuesday and everything is dead, i can just cut my loses. who knows.
bill murray is also, apparently sky diving into chicago on saturday. I just googled it to confirm and florence henderson will be singing the star spangled banner and gary sinease's band is playing.

uh....there's a joke there and i'm pretty sure it wrote itself so i'll back off.
my dad called me to tell me about the baby fawns in his back yard that he was throwing apples to and scared them so he started rolling them.
i told him to tell them to stay small until i come up and see them next weekend.
I also said something like "I'll see all you good people soon" which got a laugh out of him since it's something grampa would have said and I knew it did. this is the third time he's come up this week- the first was a letter I found that he wrote me about 12 years ago- i couldn't make it past the 2nd sentence but apparently i was going through something and he wrote me a lovely letter saying how he wished he could sit down and talk to me...and then yesterday i was listening to palace music's 'viva last blues' and remembered when i dj'd at wprb in princeton NJ the summer of 95 and i played 'the mountain low' on my show and my dad and grampa were driving to princeton to come watch me...on the radio... and my grampa said something about the song choice (opening line 'if i could fuck a mountain, lord i would fuck a mountain') I wish i could remember if i forgot the 2 big f bombs or meant to play new partner or what my deal was. i probably didn't care since it is a great song....the only time i ever really got disapproving feedback from any listeners was when i played 'be hit' by smog and some overly earnest (male) grad student from some women's anti-violence blah blah program blah called up and was like 'uh, yeah, i'm so and so from *incredibly long overly liberal graduate program* and i don't appreciate yak yak yak'...
i may have said 'sorry' i don't remember.
although it makes me laugh to this day. Oh, Ivy-Leaguers.....

7:17 p.m. - 2008-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity