Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

baltimore kicked my ass

My bruise from the Baltimore Jesus Lizard show at S0nar is coming in *nice*
In the midst of the craziness of moving and the hoidays, there are (were) two jesus lizard shows and there is yet to be one tej le0.
The show at 9:30 was (i thought, and apparently am wrong) really electric. I was down right in front of DW sims because he's a fucking pitbull and so steady you could set a watch by him. I thought the crowd seemed into it but they were mostly behind me. IM was in the private balcony crouched on the floor the whole time. I did, a few times, wonder what he thought of the shenanigans. Both nights, Y0w sailed above my head on the eager hands of other show attendees. At S0nar he reached down and tousled my hair. Not gonna lie, thrilled me a bit. The last time that happened was in 97 0r 98 at a new b0mb turks show in Athens OH.
I ran into GG at the 930 and told him i was going to baltimore too and driving if he wanted to go. He texted me the next day yes.
We left the 930 and it was *pouring* and thunder and lightning and it was so beautiful. I ran to my car skipping puddles and felt so happy and good and electric and alive. i wish i could feel like that all the time.
The baltimore show opened with a Bmore band who i loved and were completely great to open for the JL. And i liked the space and I liked seeing JV and hearing what he was up to.
I was, however, completely unprepared for the crush of hordes from the drunk/stoned/hirsute men of baltimore. I was actually thankful for the baricade so i had something to grab and push back against the weight of the crowd surging forward. you didn't even need feet, it was just....all people. I've been in pits before and not an issue, this came from a different place and it was maybe a little scary. Also, hey kids, at sonar crowd surfing doesn't get you ejected. maybe it normally does? wish it did last friday.
GG and I gave up after probably 8 or 9 songs and retreated to the side.
I think that makes TJL my most-seen band in 2009. A total of three times. I use to keep tabs on all that stuff. A running list of all the bands i've seen and who opened and where they played. I kind of wish i kept that up.
As i'm packing and cleaning I'm unearthing a number of ticket stubs which are fun to see. Also i found my saints 7" record which i bought in KC MO almost nine years ago. it's good timing because I suggested the Saints for a sound designer for a show i'm doing. and actually have a meeting for in 40 minutes. Bye!

5:41 p.m. - 2009-11-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity