Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am thankful for being normal

Yesterday went so well, I am so proud. I don't know that I will do this for forever, or even keep working with people with disabilities but I am really proud of myself for the work I have done. I wasn't sure I would be able to do it or take to it like I have. Given my fear of stuff like midgets. Or little people. whatever. I think I've always felt guilty about being scared of this girl heather who had downs syndrome when I was little. She was not nice. She was loud and punching and she would chase you. I discussed this with one of my brothers recently and he remembered her too- my mother did not. my mother has shown the innate ability to forget about some of the more life-shaping moments of my life: trying to make me interact with heather. telling us that eating chocolate in the morning makes you an alcoholic. telling scott and I we were only allowed to apply for colleges in the Pennsylvania state college system (todd, however, was allowed to apply wherever he wanted) (she didn't say that then, but todd was allowed to apply out of state which he did)
I think it's funny that she really doesn't remember the college comment. Also that scott and i ended up going to the same school which at certain times worked out well.

I went out with D at the new favorite bar on friday night and I told her all about the funny/weird/lame dates I've been on lately. She confirmed my suspicions of the creepy one and she said "oh beth...yeah, that's...that's weird" so now i don't feel so bad. For awhile I was thinking "man, i must be super old-fashioned". turns out no. just normal.

And I am thankful for being normal.

10:27 a.m. - 2010-02-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity