Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New year, new 2014

I'm taking a break from my ritual new years cleaning. I'm actually pretty happy with my progress and fairly horrified how bad I let things drift.
Depression is a heck of a deterrent.

I'm feeling optimistic about 2014. I can't remember if I felt this way about 2013 but I don't think I did. I had a nice holiday with the family. My dad is being a dick, but my relationship with my mom is good and I'm grateful for that.
My youngest brother is becoming a dad soon. In February. It's made him...mellower? Kinder? Whatever it is, I like it. I hope it stays. It's cool watching him turn into an adult. I missed much of his adolescence- he was 12 when I went off to college and I never really returned.

I know people balk at the idea of an arbitrary date for a "fresh start" but this seems as good a time as any to revisit your goals and try to get back on track.
I feel like for most of this year, I just stayed. I didn't push.
Truth is, i love new years day. I prefer it when it's either cold and fresh or it's unseasonably warm and you can get a jump on spring.
It looks like tomorrow will be the former.
So far, 2014 holds promises of famous drag queens and Rocket From the Crypt so I'm pretty excited to greet it in a few hours.
So here's my New Years wish to you dear reader(s):
May 2014 be fun. The kind of fun that makes your cheeks ache from smiling and the kind that makes you lose track of your time, your inhibitions and maybe your hat.
I hope we reflect more, ruminate less and quiet the voices that stop you from finding it is what your heart truly wants to do.
Above all, enjoy.

Happy New Year!

xoxo
beth

4:44 p.m. - 2013-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity