Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you never bring me birdies

Wanna know how much my kitty loves me?

Well, it involves carnage-but yeah. that's pretty close. Good guess! *hi-5's all around*

So the other day, i had let sadie outside ( i live on the 2nd floor of a 3 story apartment building. it's a small apartment, and sometimes, when she's stir-crazy or i'm trying to do something, i'll take her downstairs and let her outside. Aside from getting her fat ass lodged up a neighbour's tree at 12:30 am, there really hasn't been a problem, until well...now....

I always thought the fact that Sadie is shaped somewhere between a pear and a bowling ball (it's true- what they say about pets resembling their owners....all true)would prevent any animal casualties. I like the birds around my apartment building. they're nice birdies. mostly mocking birds and a few grackles. So, the other day, i open my apartment door to go down and retrieve the kitty, when she comes bounding up the stairs with her mouth full of something. It actually looked kinda cute...until i realized it was a birdy bird bird. Sadie drops it at my feet, all proud of herself, and the bird-not dead- hangs a quick right and flies into my bathroom.

I shut the door and carefully scooped up the bird. it was a grackle...not a mocking bird. i took it outside to make sure it's wings weren't broken or nuthin' and luckily she was ok. a little dazed i think. hopped around for a bit, but eventually flew off.

My neighbour entered the building and asked what i was doing, so i told him about my cat. and he shook his head and said something like "a gentle touch i guess".

i guess....but how gentle can being caught in someones jaw be?

When i was little, our cats would bring us moles and baby rabbits and an occasional bird. They were all 'out side' cats. I think the cat my mom has now is officially the first inside cat in all baldwin history. I tried to explain to them that we really didn't want our rodents brought to us, and besides...moles aren't much of an accomplishment, seeing as how they're almost blind and all.

they didn't listen. but so far sadie has. no more birdies.

18:22:58 - 2000-07-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity