Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I pledge my allegiance to my Hello Kitty Macaroni

Know what i caught myself doing earlier this morning?

Singing along to 'Jet City Woman'- you know, by Queensryche? The one that makes you pronounce 'woman'- "wuh-huuuuuuuuu-maaaaaaaaaan'. Yep. Totally. Didn't even know i knew that song. But weirdly, it ties into what i'm listening to right now. It's a discussion on reciting the pledge of allegiance in school. What, you may be thinking, has Queensryche to do with such a topic miss b?

Well, i'll tell you- i've recited the pledge sure. Did i ever think about the words? Sometimes. Has my heart ever swelled with pride over said allegiance? Uh....nope.

Some of you are propbably thinking- Well then get the fuck out of America! But I like where i live. Is there stuff wrong with it? Sure. Am i doing anything to change it? In baby steps. But i'm wondering why i feel so apathetic about it...America i mean. I watched fireworks on the 4th, happy to see the colors. Didn't think 'by-god, i'm glad to be an American'.i was a senior in high school when the gulf war broke out, and someone released that horrid horrid horrid 'proud to be an american' song. I only know that song exists because of a senior class trip to orlando florida and my friend karyn and i ended up rooming with these two girls. (well, i think it may have been debatable if one was, infact, female) but she brought a radio with THAT SINGLE and would play it FIRST THING IN THE MORNING and THE VERY LAST THING I HEARD AT NIGHT.......for FIVE days. Perhaps that what sullied all-things-patriotic for me. But Thinking about singing along with Queensryche and reciting an ingrained pledge that really doesn't mean much to me got me thinking. Why do i sail through days automatically reacting to things and not giving them much thought process. It's almost automatic really. Like when people say absolutely ridiculous things and i just nod and smile and think 'wait- what the fuck did you just say? Why is my head nodding like some spring-necked car bobble? stop it beth! stop it! you disagree! your opinion matters too! open your damn mouth and make them stop talking'

whew. I'm gonna get off of this and talk about something else that matters to me- Hello Kitty Macaroni.

I went to a party at my friend Diana's last night where she gave me a bag of Hello Kitty Macaroni that someone had given her roommate melissa and melissa gave it to diana to give to me. isn't that the greatest?!?!?!?

i'll have to proudly display it in my kitchen somewhere. it's by far one of the weirdest things i've eve seen. i'm amost (but not quite) tempted to open it up and make a macaroni necklace- with yellow yarn. Or glue some to a paper plate and hang it on my fridge- but who knows if i'll ever get to japan myself to get more.

Do you know what they have in Japan? It's called "Puro Land". It's basically Disney world but all sanrio characters. I know there's two. One is in Tokyo. Someday i will make the pilgrimage, and i will explode with happiness.

12:15:47 - 2000-07-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity