Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cultural Frosting

So, i've been thinking about 'anniversaries'. Mostly because my parents had one yesterday (31 years!); mine and a little town called Washington DC. (2 years!) was earlier this week, so milestones have kinda been on my mind.

I moved to Washington, knowing i had a job (an internship, that i was looking to parle into a full-fledged job) housing (came with said internship) and exactly one friend, that i had met in Williamsburg Va at the Virginia Shakespeare Festival, two years prior. She was already gainfully employed at the place i was going to work for. Isn't life great? it being so small 'n all?

All in all, not a bad sum of totals, but it was still daunting. I've always been good at picking up and jumping in. Both feet together, eyes squished closed, hope in my heart, hand grabbing my nose and SPLASH!

So i've been here for a while...i'm still swimming...but i'm looking at new pools.

Lea and Jason are both convieniently moving to Jersey City.(home of the band Spent. lea went 'Who?' and i said 'No! Spent!' oh how i laughed...) Lea called last night to tell me she found an apartment and i am so relieved.

I'm also happy, because i can go visit and we can go to Coney Island and the Statue of Liberty and all those New York things i love to do and never get a chance to...

Jr wrote me last week, he's also moving to New York. I think with stephen skiles. he'll be blowing through town this weekend to see me and i can't fucking wait. Boys love Jr because he's sporty and nice and guy like, girls like JR because matt damon looks a lot like him, i like JR because he is the sweetest person, the best Technical Director and a fine buddy to swing in a hammock with on cape cod, whiling away the summer evenings.

can't wait i can't wait i can't wait.

there's so much i'm taking stock of, and so much i'm trying not to notice.

am i in a better place now from two years ago? I can't say yes, and i can't say no.

Unless we're speaking strictly geographically. Because then, yes. Washington DC kicks Athens Ohio's ass to Mars and back. at least 19 times. i'm getting better at confronting my fears. i'm getting sooooo much work. so much that i have to turn stuff down. even when i want to say 'well..where i come from, it's customary to PAY a person for one job that they did for you back in JULY before you ASK them for another favor....Ari....'. but i didn't. i just said, "i'd have to check my schedule".

I don't want to. i want to make stationary and all things cute. I want to be the Punk Rock Martha Stewart.

I also want to finish my zine, but have it go in a different path. Mostly because i think i need to get my eyes checked, and i mis-read something as "Cultural Frosting" and i thought what a great idea! a smattering of all the stuff i love. but to keep on top of it, If the Shoe Fits would have to come out a lot more often.

If you have an opinion, please let me know.

i do loves me some feedback.

I have to go to work now.

xoxo

beth b.

13:10:46 - 2000-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity