Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rebuilding together

This is an entry from my new diary get-involved.diaryland.com

This is the diary that's going to check me on my p's and q's.

Living in DC, i see occurrences everyday that tear at my gut, but i often feel powerless about it.

My cause of the moment right now is rebuilding together / christmas in april

It's similar to homes not jails, but done in a more...contstructive manner. I admire the homes not jails folk because of what they stand for, but i just can't help but feel they're going about this all wrong. They take over a house that's sat neglected somewhere in the city, and put up some drywall and paint it periwinkle and try to move a family in. However... (and that elipse should be read dot-dot-dot) they don't really have anyone to properly wire the houses and it's just kind of a take-over. I'm all for taking stuff back, but unfortunately, you're fighting a city and often the neighbors that go along with the illegially acquired house.

My hope is to start working with an organization like Rebuilding Together because too often am i reading about groups of tennants that are being evicted because of their landlord's neglect. There are times when the tennants are able to buy the building back from the city for a really low fee, tho, provided they are able to do the necessary repairs. It is my hope that i can help these people and put my carpenter skills for better use than just constructing some dumb footstool for judith light.

If you have questions or comments, feel free to email me at

[email protected]

9:50 a.m. - 2001-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity