Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

more sappy stuff about my house

This entry is part one about visiting my parents. Bear with me as i'm sure the prose will be sappy and weak, as given to what i've been reading lately, 'kay? *kisses*

My parents have just settled into their new homestead. This house is a little more rooted into the Bucks County Farming of Yore than the old house, so instead of being able to spy my house when i get off at exit 30 (wait- now it's 49) on I-95, i have to speed (and lawdy, speed i do. afterall, what else is one to do with nothing but fields and dub narcotic on the stereo) past other houses with names like 'Sunny Acres' or homes that have mail boxes shaped to look like barns or tractors or assorted farm animals before turning down the second scariest driveway in the history of beth. (First place goes to a boy that i dated (?) (more like made-out with a lot) keith Vey. His driveway petrified me. it probably also didn't help that i drove the biggest car in the universe then. no lie. 1985 Caprice Classic Station Wagon that was so big and glorious and white, there was nothing to do but name it 'Moby', after the great white whale.

My parents new home is very nice. it's all Hunter Douglas blinds and corin countertops tastefully placed in an 1870's farmhouse. The real story is apparently next door. The the oldest part of the neighbors house used to be the carriage house to my parents home and also where some people had made whiskey during the 20's and it was raided during the prohibition. and somehow current neighbor has pictures. i'd like to see them. I'm very fascinated by the 20's.

Right now i'm looking out the window into their back yard. There's a big furry groundhog sitting out back. On sunday, after the terrible rains there was a mama deer and a baby (which my parents creatively dubbed 'mama and bambi') frolicking in the puddles on the other side of the creek. it was pretty cute. Oh, the groundhog has waddled off. My mom has a better window on nature here. She's also spotted two wild turkeys, but they haven't been back since my dad cut the grass.

I brought Cristen to the house on saturday. She was pretty impressed with it, but we're both sad about losing some of our favorite childhood memories to some greedy developers. I did find the most amazing picture of the two of us coloring with my brother scott at my 9th birthday party. There's a whole slew of pictures of that party. Cristen scanned a copy of it, but i'm going to send her a copy of it along with another cute one of her and my brother talking. I wonder if scott had a crush on her back then. in all the pictures he's kinda hovering. Except for the one where he's standing in the middle of a circle of girls with his hands on his hips in a....um....welll...gay gay gay gay gaygaygay gay pose.

Went out to lunch with my grandmom today and then we went back to her place and just talked for two hours. she's getting stronger, but she admits she gets so tired now. she also tried to give me some cut glass. There's actually a pitcher i wouldn't mind having, but i can't even bear to think about what . no. i'm not going to say it. i can't think about it.

On the way home i drove past my great pop-pop's house, my grandpa's old house, and stopped in to say goodbye to my house. They still haven't settled because contractors are jerks, but i still have a key. It's so weird the house being empty and all. Rumour is they're going to gut it. Which makes me sick to my stomach, but what can you do.

I leave to go back to DC tomorrow. I have to make it back for the most secret method and the kick-off of Ft. Reno. (erin- fugazi is playing the 16th i think)

I'd also like to get a hair cut beforehand. i am so shaggy. and not in the scooby doo way. more like is in the 90-day men kinda way. bleh.

xoxo

beth b.

3:47 p.m. - 2001-06-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity