Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Ralph Nader...

and the anger continues...

or, My Open Letter to Ralphy Nader

Dear Mr. Ralphy Nader

Hello! I did not vote for you in the 2000 election. My gramma did 'tho. Which I secretly think is cool, because let's face it, 2-party politics is pretty sucky, huh? Yeah. It is. And that was a lot of the focal point in the 2000 election. And I'm proud of my gramma for doing that. Even 'tho she's not all that into you. Well, "into you" might be a little strong. Maybe it's more "understand what you're all about".

I'm sure I'd feel different about her choice if she lived in Florida with millions of other people's grammas. But she doesn't. She lives in Pennsylvania with the rest of my family and I still stand by her decision. Because really, I get it. We want more choices and I opted for the lesser of all evils, Al Gore. I remember sitting up on election night in my little studio apartment, huddled on my bed in the corner with the window that overlooked Independance Ave...the very window where I would later hang "I didn't vote for you" signs on the weekend of the Innauguration of W. And then later the one where i wrote ASHCROFT with the big red strike through it. Like the ghostbusters symbols. But no ghost. just the last name of a pasty old white man far scarier than any ghost you might encounter. It was so tense and when Tim Russert announced, probably around 10:30, 10:45-ish that Gore had taken Florida, I stopped watching and went out to the grocery store (Shoppers Food warehouse incase you're interested)to get my mind of of this, because I thought we had won.

But I'm getting of track Mr. Ralphy Nader. My point is, you're running again, but this time the immenent sucky-ness of two party politics isn't the point. The Point is to foist out the garbage that is currently in the white house. My two favorite contenders to claim the whitehouse have since bowed out of the race. Wes Clark (who is *seriously* a super hero.....read about him sometime) and Howard Dean who actually had a spark and was then cast out for showing it.

Hey, sidenote to America- Make up your minds!!! Al Gore? Too wooden. Howie Dean? too impetuous!

That's bullshit. You know and I know that the media made a mountain out of a raised fist and a couple of glinty eyes. And technology being what it is served to isolate the most bizzare of soundclips and the quickest of weird looks to show what a "mad man" that Dean is. Yeah, look at all the kids in Vermont getting free health care. Look at the same-sex unions getting the same kind of rights as commonlaw mariages. Wow! what an insane man!

Anyway, Mr. Nader, my point is this...for the last 4 years, you've done nothing. Seriously. Did you even write a book? You've been in hiding only to come out at the 9th hour, two of your more formiddible opponents have bit the dust; (confidential to Kerry- please take wes clark as your running mate. Leave this John Edwards guy alone)(connfidential to John Edwards- wait another 12 years to run for president)

(confidential to Howard Dean- please try again in the next election, unless Hilary makes a go of it, then run as her VP)(confidential to Wes Clark- I still think you should run. Or take the VP nomination.)

Ralph Nader- do what you do best, be our consumer advocate. You're amazing in that capacity. Don't be the glitch this time. Say "you're right, i don't know what I was thinking" throw your support to one of the candidates, and step out of the way.

Otherwise, man, are you one arrogant son of a bitch.

xoxo

beth b.

9:59 a.m. - 2004-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity