Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

how low is too low

I think the interview yesterday went well. I was right about the less-pay thing.

part of me thinks f-it! you could do it, but then i'm thinking, really?

I know it's impolite to talk about money, but it's also impolite to read people's diaries, and honestly, this kinda is my life, so here goes...

i make over 14/hour. if we round that up to 15 (for rounding sake) and i'm offered over 9 from PS (which we'll round up to 10 for rounding sake) that means i'll loose 1/3 of my income for a year.
and my income this year was barely 30k, so 1/3 of 30 is 10 which means i'd only make 20k a year? that's f-ing scary.
there is a small commission from letter press, but even then, that means i'd have to work on my days off. and sometimes a girl needs a day off.
like, preferably 2/week,
the woman who interviewed me was really nice and there were times durning the interview where it definitely felt like two people chatting.
she encouraged me to put down what i make hourly at shakes. which there's no way they'll pay, but who knows. maybe i can at least get them to actually come into the double digits.
so, i don't know. maybe my math is wrong. maybe i should just do it because at first at least, i could live for a month from unused sick and vacation time at shakespeare and see what it would really mean financially.
i'd like to say i could make up the difference in art shows and etsy, but neither seems to be going well for me.

5:39 a.m. - 2007-06-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity