Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bacon, eggs and a foot massage please.

I did really really well at CB yesterday. Almost double the show in the fall- it was *insane* Also, I was next to the two nicest soap makers ever. I was there by myself and I mentioned that I should have picked up breakfast (I had wildly overslept- waking at 6:30 when I should have been up at 5:30) on the way and she said 'oh, my sister is at WF, I'll call her and she can pick something up for you'. Sometimes, I really do love the indie craft community. It really reminds me of the old indie rock scene with people working together and beating new paths. It's pretty great, actually.
It was a really big show to not really have help on. KC and scott and paula were there for a little bit, but all the set-up/break down and lugging is a lot for one person to do.Thankfully my back didn't pull any tricks. I've been not good about going to the gym for the past month, so I need to really get serious about it again. I made some small progress and probably the fact that I can load and unload all that stuff by myself and wake up at 6:30 am, get dressed, load the car, spend all day in hot hot heat and all night at a rock show and go to sleep at 1:30 am is proof)
It rained for about 3 minutes and then the skies cleared and it was fine the rest of the day. I broke down by myself in record time, lugged my shit to the car and couldn't wait to get home to shower. I wasn't going to count the money until today, but I did. And I did well. I was very excited.
Then I met scott and paula at this wine bar place on the hill. It was a bit awkward- the AC was off downstairs so everyone was upstairs in the 'lounge' which is all low-slung furniture in greys, blacks and whites with stacking lucite tables thrown in.
It was....mighty white. I don't know how else to say it. Also? Their musical selections included Bruce Hornsby's mandolin rain. Yes. That kinda place.
I don't know that I ever need to go back, although the gin was good.
yes, i had gin at a winebar. It's summer, G&T is my drink.
Then it rained ridiculously hard and I still had a car full of stuff so i dumped the tables at a friends apartment so i could drive scott and paula (thanks A&C) to their hotel and continued on to mission of burma. These craft show days/rock show nights are all getting a bit much.
But I've made a pact with myself that if MoB are ever playing within driving distance, I'm there. I made that pact watching them in chicago at pfork (two weeks after seeing them in DC) and I thought to myself 'there is really no where I'd rather be than right here, right now'. They're just so amazing and I think actually legitimately happy to be playing. As much as I enjoy Dino Jr's
'Beyond', I can' help but feel like there's a bit of a chip on J's shoulder. Sometimes reunions smack of buried hatred for the door count, but MoB always seems like they've never missed a step.
I have my final AOM volunteer shift tonight. I am really grateful that the 4th of july is considerately on a friday, so it's a 4 day work week which means less clothing to have to figure out.
I can't believe i still miss rolling out of bed and into jeans and a shirt.
I applied for my job on thursday. I don't know what happens if I don't get it, but honestly? I kinda thought "eh. It wouldn't be the worst thing ever if I didn't get it".

Now I want breakfast.
And to sit in bed and read the paper.
But breakfast, definitely.

I'd also like a foot massage. But I think i'll just have breakfast.

8:58 a.m. - 2008-06-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity