Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

who wants to start a magazine?

I've been reading a lot of dude-magazines lately. Like esquire (with mike myers on the cover) and GQ with seth rogen. I'm kind of embarrassed for both of their cover shots- hey, mike! let's make a stuffed goat bite your pants! rogen! don this squirty flower. No, scratch that, put on these dino legs, NO! how about a set of wax lips with a bone hanging out of them!
let's do 'em all!
There's just no real female equivalent...well, maybe Bust. Old Jane wasn't bad. Jane after 2001 or so was terrible. And I laughed when I heard they were shutting its doors and girls were scrambling out the door with samples.
Occasionally, I'll read Vogue if there's a great editorial spread. And Martha. Yeah, I'll read martha. I haven't read hers in a while but this month there were a few good chowder recipes and an article on antiquing in Bucks County which reminds me i have to call my mom...
I still mourn the loss of Budget Living...that was the kind of magazine i could get behind. Cute winter coats for under $100 and how to make your own wallet while throwing a mexican fiesta for 16 friends. Seriously. It was fun and crafty without the seriousness of Ready-Made which I think I've given up on...except they had that great "make your own printing press" cover story a few months ago, but I am not a printmaker so I'm saving it in vain.

i had a point...oh, so the covers....wow. bad. at least on women's mags, when tina fey appeared, she wasn't posed slipping on a banana peel or sitting on a whoopee cushion. Although there was talk of (marie claire? I think?) aggressive airbrushing.
I guess what I'm saying is, who wants to start a magazine?

6:36 p.m. - 2008-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity