Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

diy cocktails

Last night went really well i think. It was crowded and busy, but full of nice people. There was an artist there that I like a lot and he said 'Sondra said that this is your first show?' and i said 'well, yeah, i mean I've done artomatic and stuff, but I've never done anything...like...this'. I'm never really sure what to say and stuff i paint, because quite frankly, i don't think I'm very good. I mean, scenic painting and public art stuff, I'm fine. I'm maybe better than fine, i might be 'pretty good'. But i have some disconnect when applying paint to a canvas that would make me rather climb into a hole than have to talk about it or show it to people.
I think weirdly, that's one of the reasons why i like doing craft shows. It makes me talk to people. And I'll be honest, people are usually pretty nice with their praise, and who doesn't like to hear nice things about yourself?
The artist that i like is in talks with his boyfriend about which one they're going to buy which is so weird, but hey! cash!
Todd g. and sean both came to see the show which was nice. and afterward sean and i went to dinner at trio's since it was basically across the street and also, that is my favorite place in the city to get a gin and tonic because they bring you a tumbler of straight gin over ice and a small bottle of tonic water. i've tested this with other mixed drinks too and they do indeed bring you a tiny bottle of coke to go with your rum. I'm not sure why i like d.i.y cocktails, but i do.
yesterday i had kind of a dad day- i went to an old hardware store that smells like a hardware store should and is appropriately stuffed to the gills with awesome hardware-y stuff and then i drove around doing errands listening to baseball on the radio. i think it reminds me of when i was little and he would listen to it on AM radio and i would squirm around in the backseat complaining because when you're an 8 year old girl, is there anything more boring than a broadcast baseball game?
but now the tinny announcer (even in FM) and the popping cracks of the ball against wood and the constant murmur of the crowds, it's just all very soothing.

5:18 p.m. - 2008-09-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity