Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

new kitten in my basement

People are going to give me shit for this but,
This afternoon, I intended to go to Ikea and pick up some things for my display for sunday. I took kennilworth ave instead of BW parkway and see what I thought was a black squirrel darting in and out of traffic. It was in fact a teeny tiny black kitten.
I swung a u-turn, parked my car, ran across traffic, hopped a guardrail and coaxed the scrawniest black kitten out of weeds. Which reminds me, I should shower with that poison ivy stuff tonight, because knowing my luck...
So I have the kitty, he's stopped squirming and i'm holding him to my chest and petting him and he's calm now. I'm not sure what to do because I already have a cat, but since mom's dear cat lucy suddenly died on wednesday, i figure it's fate and i know a good vet in the next town and take him there to get his feline -hiv/leukemia test.
He passes and the vet tells me he's probably 8 weeks old, since he has a full set of baby teeth, but he's so malnourished that he's the size of a 6 week cat. At this point, the cat is perched on my shoulder and licking my ear. He's really incredibly sweet and hungry so now I need to keep him separated from Sadie (my cat) for 2-3 weeks incase he has a respiratory illness.
My mom isn't sure she wants a new cat yet, let alone a male cat so I don't know what to do now. He's really really sweet and I shelled out for his first distemper shot as well...so if anyone in the DC area is looking for a sweet baby black kitten, give me a shout.

7:57 p.m. - 2008-09-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity