Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

now with more snark!

I watch too much tv. i do. i know i do. it's sad. Last night, not content with the netflixed 6 episodes of mad men I bought season 1 on DVD on my way to Rebecca's house for pumpkin custard. (Incidentally, she has clued me in to this place in NOVA that makes the aforementioned custard which sounds like it should be gross? Is glorious. It's like...I can't even describe it. It would be unfair. You just need to experience it. That's all)But the entire walk from her house to Dairy Godmother (i know) we talked about TV. although her watching is largely because she's had some major surgery recently and also has produced sweaters, socks, and a bag. When I watch TV i'll read the paper or embroider owls. Or half-finish a samuri soduko. My watching is due largely to laziness. Sometimes, I really do love it- like maybe Mad Men. Which makes me anxious but it's pretty beautiful. The costumes, the hair...the mens. Good god the men.
I need to make myself get out more. Lectures, book readings...whatever. Not worry about missing america's next top model (true) (also- I don't have the tivo. at this point, i don't even have a vcr. I mean, I have one, but it's effectively become a dusty box my TV sits on and eats any video tape put into its mouth. it's 11 years old so it owes me nothing.)
I suppose I could look into the Tivo/on demand whateves but I just worry that would be feeding my addiction.
I am reading sarah vowell's new book. I'm not loving it. I like the fact that as i read, i hear her voice in my head, but it's still a bit dry. I guess I like her when she's more about the personal annecdotes and less about incorporating 4-5 words from 7 different publications so "that everything reads" kind of like this. "only with more snark".

10:46 a.m. - 2008-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity