Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the key to good living is modern hair

strange vignettes continue:
This morning at eastern market metro, I arrived 30 seconds after a Cooper's Hawk flew into the glass bus shelter and it was belly-down, wings splayed, panting on the pavement. Its head was up and it was looking around while it was panting and the beak didn't look broken. The express and examiner newspaper guys were saying over and over how it just flew smack into the glass. I wasn't sure if it was just stunned or if it was really hurt so I called 411 to get the number for animal control when a gaggle of commuters late for work were rushing toward the metro and the hawk got spooked and was able to fly off. it was a good, strong lift-off. it wasn't wobbly or unsure so that makes me feel better. there was a mess of gulls and stuff in the sky so i wonder if he was going to swoop down and scoop one up.
there's a cooper's hawk that lives in the petworth area that I sometimes see on the public housing near where I work, but I have never been that close to one before. they really are cool.

I've had many compliments on my hair today, which is nice. I'm glad I looked my best for an injured hawk.
And the comissioners meeting today. Oh balls- i just remembererd tonight it the last night for that show I had paintings in and there's some kind of champagne reception...i wonder if i have to pick them up tonight or if i can do that over the weekend.
it seems a shame to waste good hair on now going out, but at the same time, i haven't been home much this week and i kinda need to get ready for the onslaught of christmas shows coming up. the craft mutiny on is in 17 days!

2:45 p.m. - 2008-11-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity