Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rectangu-whir

i just saw on a friend's page a mention about my scenic-design professor from OU passing away. I have so many conflicting feelings I feel kind of like a yo-yo.
On the one hand? I hated her. A lot. We disagreed on pretty much everything and she balls-out frightened me and I shouldn't have let her. She has a propensity for lavendar velour track & sweat suits and large barretts that would wobble back and forth on her head as she went "uh-huh uh huh" when you were defending your designs.
She pronounced peculiar and rectangular "pee-cue-whir" and "wreck-tang-urer" respectively.
She lived tucked away in ohio but still designed in NYC and named her daughter willow. My classmate scott c. shared with me that he found out back in the 70's she only wore white pantsuits and smoked like a fiend and bleached her hair blonde.
If those were her natural teeth, they were a super scary set of chompers.
And on the other hand, i'm grateful to her. I landed in DC because of her- or maybe in spite of. She and i both quietly recognized that I was a better prop person than a set designer. SHe took a chance on me that horrible, cold, snowy New York weekend and met me at URTA in 1995 and called me two weeks later to offer me a full ride my first year of school. The last two years I had full tuition waiver but had to pay the rent and stuff so I took out loans. I clicked my final payment on wednesday. It was for $.03
I can't find anything but a message from carol to confirm this however.

12:15 p.m. - 2009-01-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity