Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boobie Bobesch, art historian

This has been a bad day to be my hands. 2 paper cuts (from manilla folders) and a broken nail *way* down into the nailbed. awesome.
I had a discussion with my favorite artist/kinda mentor #1 last week about the use of the 'Alter Ego' when you're making art. Asking specifically about a particular artist but then also comparing it (weakly) to Beyoncee's (How many e's in Beyonce? One? two? I'll leave the extra E for extra) Sasha Fierce character.
She had been having the same alter-ego thought and we're both going to try to do it, but man! Alter-ego inventing is HARD. She said "I'm not even sure mine is a woman!" and i said "oh! that's interesting" because really, I suspect somewhere, down in my core, there is a 14 year old boy who is still skateboarding and tagging and listening to punk rock. Albeit a 14 year old boy that wants to wear John Hamm down to a nub.
To feed the alter ego (and to make amends with the real past beth b.) i bought Start Today on vinyl at Som this weekend. (Also picked up a modern lovers record)I have more emotional baggage with that record that's retarded and I don't feel like going into here mostly because it's...just wildly retarded and really, i should just try to have a fresh start with that record because really...it's a great record. Ok, so that's established.
Then talking to Sean about it, he asked "well, do you want an alter ego or an alias?". He knows from working with me 6 or 7 years and being my friend for over 10, I have a cast of characterd that pop out occasionally. There was one that came about after ordering chandelier parts that I called "boobie bobesch" and that's who he thinks should go into Art History and lecture. "Imagine how popular your lectures would be!"
I kind of feel like when I find it, i'll find it. This alter ego. I just wish it would reveal itself faster.

1:29 p.m. - 2009-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity