Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

please don't pronounce it lie-berry

We're having a big Open! House! for Pub Art today. In a place designed by an architect I like but it hasn't been taken care of. The last time I was in there (you'll see why) I was doing research for Country Wife (Chester didn't believe in computer-aided research at this point and to an extent I agree. there was nothing i loved more during grad school than to dewey-decimal the shit out of a subject I needed and plop down on the floor pulling book after book into my lap looking for inspiration and research for designs. Here there would be no floor plopping )(you'll see why)and I was pulling out a book from an open stack when a homeless gentleman lowered his fly to half staff, yanked it out and proceeded to pee into the corner at the end of an aisle. Yes. In a library. Yes in a Mies Van der Roe building. Yes that was my last time in that library.
I'm curious to see what public will come and how they heard. If you're in the DC area, please stop by the MLK library tonight from 5-7 and tell us you're not represented by the city's public art collection. Please. I love it when people yell at me.
D and I did a stop in last week to meet with the woman that organizes the meeting rooms and we went into one of the reading rooms and I do have to say, I smelled no urine (it was 9:30 am 'tho) and there were both of the new art spieglemans there. Might be time to renew my library card.

3:08 p.m. - 2009-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity