Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

speed bumps for every body!

Yes! Secret day off was successful! Kinda! I mean mostly! I started out to see the baby gorilla, and here's the thing, roughly 75,649 other people thought the same thing, so I said F this S in the GH (i hadn't thought that for awhile)and headed back down rock creek and saw this magnificent weirdly crooked cemetery and got off on P and attempted to find it and ended up in Dupont and it was noon so i said 'oh screw dead people. I'm near uni!' so i stopped off and had sushi (red dragon and mango salmon, the two crack rolls) (it was a secret holiday after all!)and got back in the car to make attempt two and now i think i know where it is, but i figure, maybe i'll try it another day and head back towards the hill so i can stash the car and hop a bus and go to the hirschorn so i can see the louise bourgeois show which is so effing splendid i can't even tell you. The hot and tattooed art handler that i work with sometimes helped set up the show and now i have 40 million questions so i hope i work with him on wednesday.
One of her famous spiders is on loan and it's kind of amazing. You know what else is amazing? PEOPLE LET THEIR FUCKING CHILDREN CLIMB IT. It makes me cazy. First, there was this little girl/boy (i don't know what it was) who insisted on putting her hands all over it and i let that slide but then she jumped up and hung off of one of the legs and i yelled at her. I YELLED...it was like she was kicking my cat, complete reflex reaction. I said "This is ART it's not a PLAYGROUND!" he/she mumbled sorry and the family skulked away. When I was coming out there was a bigger boy (this time I'm sure) on TOP of the spider and again, i yelled (this time shaming the parents) "Whose child is that? Get him down!" I realize this is roughly the museum equivalent to 'hey you kids get off my lawn' but seriously people...It makes me insane INSANE when people disrespect art.
I took the bus back to the hill and went to the gym and had a nice long adventure on the elliptical. I've been good this week.
A dude just came to my door collecting signatures for speedbumps on my road. I asked how many speed bumps he was talking about, because quite frankly a whole slew were just slapped down and i hate them. they're not so much speed bumps as speed-mountain ranges. i signed anyway because i didn't want to be the bitch who likes kids getting hit by speeding commuters from maryland. because we know that that's what i would be known as. I'd rather just be 'the white girl who doesn't mow her lawn often enough'. that's enough shame for me right there.

6:49 p.m. - 2009-04-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity