Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

walking on lin

Went to the Maya Lin exhibit at the corcoran. It didn't make me want to conquer the world the way that the martin puryear show did, or make me want to lock myself in my house until i started creating some satisfactory art the way the bourgois show did, but the wave/swell/mountain made of 2x4 was pretty gorgeous.
there are two incredibly gorgeous moments in that show (beautiful in their simplicity) and then kind of a...i don't want to say awe-inspiring, but it's pretty cool thing.
the scale is what's truly amazing.
The hill of 2x4's was apparently shipped on flats and it's bolted together. the 'inside' is hollow, so it's really short lengths of 2x4 at various heights on an armature. D and i went as part of this fancy-lady luncheon (lunch was good!)and we were able to hear the curator of the show patiently answer the same question 19 times.
One of the things that struck me as so funny was the other women were just...BESIDE themselves at how uniform the width of the 2x4s were. And they're 2x4s. Apparently from a sustainable resource, but they were still, at the end of the day, chunks of 2x4. I didn't understand what they didn't understand until it hit me- they've probably never seen, let alone had to purchase or build something out of wood.
That made me a little sad,actually.
the corcoran is going to let members or something actually walk on the installation on three specific dates. one is my birthday. I might want to walk on a maya lin installation on my birthday. that would be cool.

8:26 p.m. - 2009-05-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity