Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

put some damn bloomers on the barbie

I got a crazy amount of stuff done this weekend. It's been a nice combination of restful and successful that I don't think I'll feel drained tomorrow when i have to return to actual work work.
Yesterday I went to a party/bbq thing where I went knowing I'd only know the hosts, and it turned out i knew one other person.
It wasn't really my crowd, but it was fun. Although I kept having to talk to this one girl (she also came to the party by herself) and in the discussions, she did referenced 3 weeks or maybe three and a half weeks or maybe three months (but she was really mopey so it was probably weeks) wherein someone (probably boyfriend) either broke it off or died and in either case took the dog, so my money is on broke it off, and boy, I mean, she is probably going through some stuff, but she was just such a boring negative ball of....drain. i kept refilling my cup just to get away.
During one of her speeches she told me she didn't want her job to define her (something at the pentagon) because what you do from 8-5 shouldn't matter as long as it lets you do what you want from 5-8.
I said that was really interesting (it wasn't) because i had in fact been recently wondering do people take jobs to fit them or do they end up fitting their jobs (i had been thinking about this actually)
I mean, i don't think i could ever file or do data-entry full time because eventually, i would want to shut a file drawer on my head. Or preferably something more accidental so i could claim workers comp. Ok, not really. While i don't want to be fully defined by my job, i don't think i would ever perform well doing something where my heart isn't in it 100%. I've had small--ish jobs like that before. like one christmas i decided it would be OK to work at KB Toys (christmas in 1995 or 96. whatever year teacher barbie came out. without underwear so Mattel recalled all the barbies). It was basically me standing at a register dealing with people. All day long.
Not a great idea for someone who is bad with both math and people.

the corn i planted from seeds is doing well, the corn i planted from seedlings is doing *really* well. The only vegetables I'm growing from seeds this year are corn (partial) carrots, peas and beans.
Squash, pumpkin, tomatoes, and peppers were all seedlings. It's just easier.

11:02 p.m. - 2009-05-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity