Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kids and Dogs, Dogs and Kids

if you ever wake up in a sour mood for no good reason, I highly recommend the Del Ray halloween parade where people dress up their kids and dogs in various costumes (most store bought which is boooo. Or as someone told me once "your 'Booo' has a philly accent- you're saying 'Beeeew'")(incidentally, I've always thought if i ever have kids- they will never wear a store bought costume. ever. but they probably would)(maybe more on this)and it. is. delightful.
I went with some friends and worked out a bunch of dog lust of the one dressed like a squirrel. and the bullies dressed as football players. and the boxer dressed as yoda. Good god. Awesome. Also, we were next to the cutest kid in the *cutest* kangaroo outfit. definitely storebought, but the kid was probably 2 and holy crap was it cute, it was like a snowsuit with a pocket and a hood and he was so cute an smiley i almost took him home. Also cute was the little girl dressed as a monkey who was unsteady on her feet so she was doing that fast-walk thing that kids do when their upper-half is leading the way and the feet are scurrying to keep up. Mid-toddle she fell and stuck her arms out and caught herself on her hands so she had both hands and both feet on the ground and the crowd (no lie) tensed up for a collective second afraid of the waterworks that were sure to come. But she didn't cry. She laughed and kept going- using all 4 limbs to locomote. Arms and legs all stick straight and scurrying little monkey while her father chased her down the street. When she got in front of us we cheered and she stood up and toddled and then fell on her padded bum. She giggled and then crawled with bent knees down the street until she was scooped up by her parent.
it was seriously uterus-aching.
When i was little the best part of halloween was making the costumes with my parents. It didn't hurt that my parents are genius' with materials. And my father and I made me a Bert mask in 2nd grade (I've always had a thing for Bert which might also explain my love of Guy P too now that I think about it)and it looked so good that at our halloween parade the kids who were younger than I was (like, 4) went ape shit when i walked by and I waved at them like i was bert from sesame street. Cristen even remembers that. My dad also made a Count mask that was amazing. And obliged my brothers when they went the commercial route making both Spuds MacKenzie and Mac Tonight masks. And many people are probably going "...who?"

Also- unrelated: How terrible is project runway? god, it's bad.
Also also- yeah. I'm done. And it feels good.

10:08 p.m. - 2009-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity