Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another break in, another day.

today is going to be awesome, i had three full hours of sleep last night.
Yesterday when we arrived at work, S found that we had been robbed. They stole my (work) laptop, S's laptop, the digital SLR camera someone gave us a few years ago, the airport router and an external harddrive. Possibly one of my digital cameras, I can't find it and I fear I had it on my desk.
They threw a chunk of concrete through a small window about 8' off the ground, climbed a tree and got in.
The worst part is we think we know who it was- two kids came in on tuesday and "looked around" but they were weird. The older one on his cell phone constantly chatting, the younger one walked over near my desk and spied my iphone. I saw him and walked over, slipped it into my pocket and said "can i help you?".
Everyone *everyone* in the studio had weird feelings about them (incidentally, they looked lithe enough to scramble up a tree and shoot themselves through a window still ringed with broken glass) but white guilt prevailed and we left them alone but in hindsight, yes, they were totally casing the joint. They knew the window that was above the rack of paintings that once they made it through the window, they could climb down.
They pulled out all the drawers under my desk, maybe they thought I would be stupid enough to leave my phone there overnight? i did almost do that once.
The good news is that my rickety old laptop will be replaced. I'll get to (have to) take it home every night.
Aside from the window, they didn't damage anything. They didn't even break any glass on the artwork they climbed over so for that I'm very grateful. And it's not as severe as the shakespeare break in in 2000 or 2001 with the fire extinguisher. The worst is the rage i felt after cleaning up and the suspicion I have now towards anyone who as much as merely casts a glance toward our windows on New York Ave when they amble by.

I don't think my sleepless night was a direct result of the break-in...maybe. Maybe residual adrenaline. Once I did fall asleep, I dreamt I had an affair with a Michael York-ish english professor. The dream also involved Kasteel Rouge, so really, it was a pretty great dream.
And maybe a little funny given the timing of everything. But really, it's probably the fault of a Gilmore Girls rerun running around my brain.

6:48 a.m. - 2010-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity