Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is there really a lid for every pot?

There�s a Scandanavian comic book artist named Jason who I like quite a bit. I think the first book of his that I read was �You can�t get there from here�. I�m not going to go into the plots and sub-plots. I will only mention that there are two scientists having a discussion about love in a booth of a diner and one of them says �some people are meant to be alone and I�m one of them�.

The first time i read that sentence it resonated in me something fierce. I felt like I was hollow and someone dropped it inside and it bounced and echoed until it hit every part of me from my fingertips to my toes to my brain. In the book, the friend protests and isn�t that what we want all our friends to do when we drop an edict like that? But what if it�s true?

I�m watching relationships of people around me- friends, former friends and some acquaintances dissolve, resolve evolve with others all around me. And, well, not to be rude, but some of these people are some hard, hateful, bitter people. Maybe I am too. I�m trying not to be. But as I�m looking and watching I�m thinking �my god! what is so wrong with me?� I mean, yeah, aesthetically I�m not really very appealing I guess but is that really everything? Is it?

Is it just that some people are meant to be alone? I like traveling by myself. Should I just give up? I�ve pretty much already resolved myself to the fact that if I�m in DC, I am going to be alone. That�s just the way it is. I know there�s no guarantee of actually finding a guy that would rather date me than step on rusty nails if/when I do ever move to Philly or Chicago.

I feel like in my core, yes. I am meant to be alone. but when I tell myself that, I feel sad about that. I don�t know how to resolve the two sides.

3:57 p.m. - 2011-02-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity