Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My new years wish to you. A clean slate

Man, I do not write in this thing anymore. This thing that has been a blog since before the word blog was even a thing.

I feel like I don't have anything to write about and besides there's twitter which if you want to follow me there, I'm @tigerflight.
Sometimes I'm funny.

Actually that's one of my resolutions this year- find an outlet or make more jokes or something. Part of me suspects I'm a frustrated comedy writer judging by the podcasts I listen to when I worked in my studio.
Australia has already welcomed in 2013- hey Erin, how is it so far? All 3 hours of it?
I'm in the midst of my annual new years tradition of the mad clean. At midnight there can be no laundry in the hamper, no dish in the sink, no Q-tip in the trashcan. Everything has to be empty to receive the good-luck dust that doesn't really happen at midnight. It's kind of a stupid superstition, right? But man is it nice to be able to enjoy new years day.
I have a bit of cleaning to do, but laundry is in the last loads, all my bills have been shredded, my inbox is at 0 which is becoming a ridiculously difficult task anymore.
I keep finding little bits of W around the apartment; A hat I knit him last winter (donated), a book we salvaged from his old house (tossed), electrical cords to broken or lost items (tossed/donated) but I just found a paper kite he made me for valentines day which says something really sweet on it, but given the last month of events and the fact that when i think of valentines day of this past year, I think more of finding him passed out drunk on my sofa than i do of a kind message on a piece of rice paper. So thanks diary, i was actually thinking of keeping it but writing this makes me realize that it infact makes me angry and a little anxious so out it goes.

Here's something new and good about me: I now have an actual studio. With other artists. And dust. Lots of dust. Right now it's me & a letterpress artist who found the space and I kind of tried to endear myself to her at the market & twitter & i guess it worked because now I have a space to store my pins and one machine and the best part is it's within walking distance to my apartment thus staying within my unintentional rule of EVERYTHING IN NE DC. I'm looking forward to spending a few hours in there tomorrow making stuff.

Ok, now my new years wish for you- is anyone still reading this?

You know those mistakes you made in 2012? That's ok. You learned something right? So let's chalk up all the shit in 2012 as learning experiences and build on them in 2013. Fresh slate, let's go. No looking back.
I hope 2013 is kind to you and your loved ones and friends and pets. I hope that 2013 is when we sharpen our focus, find our voices and use them. Don't be afraid, be brave. I'll be there too.

Happy new year friend.
xoxo
beth b.

9:28 a.m. - 2012-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity