Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where do you buy a sofa?

I think I might be too preoccupied with the idea of 'winning'. I remember being legitimately concerned about this concept with my ex-bf because i felt like he and i were both letting good stuff slip away and not grabbing the brass ring as it were. The one good thing he did was push me to accept that artist residency. I had some second thoughts on it- i still might to this day- i might have let it wreck my life a little bit but i'm not entirely convinced it wasn't also Weldon's fault.
I just don't like being complacent. And i feel like that in many aspects of my life. Like my couch- I love my couch (a 1930's mohair club couch with matching chair). But as any piece of seating that is 80-some years old, it has issues. It looks lovely, but the springs are just....gone. and the horsehair and whatever it's stuffed with is disintegrating. And so now i'm thinking "do i get a new couch? what if i move? i'll have to move a new couch".
There's no way i would move to another apartment in DC- i still love my apartment. Crumbling walls and all. I love the view. I love the bats that swoop around my windows at sunset. I love watching the sunrises. I love the space and the light and the general set up. I don't love the increasing break-ins tho.
Anyway...let's talk about couches....because apparently that is one linchpin to my happiness. I don't necessarily want an Ikea sofa. What are my other options? Another vintage sofa? I mean, this dear sweet thing owes me nothing. I think I bought it for $85 back in 2005 or so.

3:16 p.m. - 2014-08-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity