Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's 2018

Every year I write a little wish for the new year and share it with the three and a half people who still read this thing. I didn't for 2017.
It's not that 2017 was bad - relatively speaking and current administration aside. For me, personally, it wasn't. It wasn't great but what does great mean? What does great even look like? But mine was fine. Mine was better than fine. My friends and family were healthy (knocking all the wood now). I met someone that I love. A lot. Someone who treats me well and equally and he's the best. I got to see a handful of people I haven't seen in *years*. Career-wise this year was maybe not great but there were long temp gigs and shows and projects and challenges that I met and conquered. There were some low moments and there are bound to be more but I feel like for me, 2017 was a significant amount of course correction.
So hey 2018....you're here. I knew you were coming but I didn't put out the cheese plate for you. I know you won't mind...you're a low-key year, yeah? You have some challenges ahead but you're being pretty open about them and you know that 2016 woke us up. 2017 got us energized and organized. And you, 2018, know you are the year that we are working to use our energy and organization and make things right.
So....you...you three and a half readers here is my wish for you and me and the world in 2018.
It's love. Either with yourself or with someone else or with a few someone elses (although please, I don't want to hear the stories and become your defacto therapist. Just know I am happy that you found what fulfills you). I hope you find what makes you wistful when you hear that song, or see that movie that makes your stomach twist in anticipation wondering when it will happen to you. I hope we all leave the relationships we recognized and cringed at when we read Cat Person (and we ALL read Cat Person). This is a year of work. So prepare. Get good gloves....get good shoes. Drink your water and your coffee and make time to see your friends and family. Do your core exercises and strengthen your back and your heart. We all need you. We all need each other.
It's 2018.

6:49 p.m. - 2018-01-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity