Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:58 p.m. - 2018-03-10
Capitol Hill je t’aime
I am adding this entry from my bathtub. Which is about as advanced as I really want to be technolocially. It’s funny because when I started this thing, I owned neither a computer nor a car and would occasionally take the work van to work on the weekend to add an entry to this thing. Oh how life has changed. Or maybe not.
I have two more sleeps in this apartment. Today was bright and sunny and I would pause and look out the window and try to imprint the view on my memory. This apartment is where I’ve lived the longest as an adult. And DC was catching up to the number of years I lived in Pennsylvania. Cut short by 1 to become a Virginian. But at least my vote will count there.
My mother, who bless her heart does not understand things, told me “well what’s the big deal? You’re practically a Virginian” and I said “how dare you”.
I’ve always said that I didn’t want to live in DC if I couldn’t live on Capitol Hill. It’s....it’s not what’s always name checked in your news. It’s really not. It’s gorgeous homes and well tended yards and community gardens tucked into the huge void where alleys meet. It used to be a slightly older, born here-will die here, group of people that have been slowly flushed out by young white families and developers shoving million dollar condos into renovated victiorian school buildings. It use to be family owned businesses next to other businesses owned by another member of the family. It used to be more of an adventure to go to the grocery store but now, instead of two Safeway’s and your bodega, there’s a Safeway, a giant, three Harris teeters, a Whole Foods, the worlds smallest Trader Joe’s and your bodega probably now carries dill havarti. The last development I don’t hate.
Capitol Hill is where I always see a friend when I’m en route somewhere. Capitol Hill familiar and smart and kind and comfortable and I am going to miss it so much.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!