Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:51 p.m. - 2023-05-22
Don't be afraid of getting older
Yesterday I turned 50.
I think I was more distraught about turning 40, but still. Entering a new decade is hard.
I was texting with a long-time friend who will be turning 50 in July and she asked if I was in denial. I said I might be. But I started thinking about the last two years and losing Lea last month and in that respect, I'm looking at 50 as a badge of honor.
Kris and Lea and a few others will never get to be 50 and it's just not fair.
Then I told her that Rue McClanahan was 51 when she started Golden Girls. I'm not saying Rue didn't look great, but I do think that a 51 year old in 1987 and a 51 year old now is not the same animal. Just as a 51 year old in 1987 and a 51 year old in 1951 were not the same animal.
Actually the difference between 1951 & 1987 was probably more shocking. Technology, being able to finally get a credit card in your name without a husband to co-sign, increasing women in schools and the workforce. I feel like the main difference between us and 1987 is we're smarter about sunscreen and moisturizer. Also I think less wig wearing but that may be a draw and not necessarily an improvement.

I said that I have a really hard time with perspective and getting out of my own head but I'm looking at aging as a positive (mostly, my knees and right ankle will disagree with me).

Anyway, this past week Chach's dad came to stay with us which was nice. Chach's lost his mom 15 years ago and with Chuck in Texas now, he doesn't get to see him often and I want him to see his dad as much as he can. Some of Chuck's time was spent with friends a few towns over, so we didn't have to entertain him the whole time which was helpful too. And this weekend I did a festival in Shirlington that was ok. Not spectacular but OK. And chach got us a hotel near it that magically had a jacuzzi tub so I got to take a soak twice. We also got to celebrate his birthday and our anniversary which is sandwiched between our birthdays. When we did it, i thought it would be fun, now i think it's too much celebrating but at least there's cake.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!