Get the Craftiest Bastard 2010 - Large widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info) bethb's diary

bethb's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My new years wish for you

Back in DC, back in my new apartment which is all i wanted when I was up in PA. still slogging through the piles of junk and a trip to ikea yesterday to help with the piles of junk. Pretty excited about the red shelves.
I'm also pretty excited to lick the seal on the envelope of this year. And decade I suppose.
This year I traveled to a city I always wanted to go to and it did not disappoint. This year I got myself out of a job that was cool but the situation wasn't. The same for my living situation- I loved that house and the kitchen but it never really felt like home. And now I live in an apartment near friends, a barbeque place and a coffee shop all within walking distance. Oh, and a hot neighbor! I also had one of the most successful shows of my life.
There's been bad stuff- there was a not so successful show (blaming the weather) and my mother's accident.
And I have new friends and got rid of not-friends. Well, not got rid of, but changed the situation so i don't have to see them very much if at all.
This decade I spent the entire thing in DC. Three different addresses. three different jobs. I've curated art shows, booked bands, made cool things happen.
I wish I could get back to that but there's a new flood of kids savvier and more connected than i ever was so they can do their whatever it is they do.

I'm looking forward to 2010 and not just because I've been promised a space odyssey- although that doesn't hurt. I'm hoping this is the year novelty makers can put the 00 sunglasses to bed. I suppose you could split the nose with the 1 but then it's off balance. Novelty makers? please stop, ok?

Ok, so readers, all 17 of you, here you go- my new years wish for you:

Last year? Forget it. It was a practice year. We may have made it count but this year, let's make it happen. Let's stop mumbling our wishes and writing them on scraps of paper and instead climb to the highest point whereever you are and SHOUT them. Let's not take no for an answer.
May this year bring you the recognition you deserve, all the fuzzy socks you desire, and all the love you decree.
Let's surround ourselves with the bestest of friends, the smoothest of scotch and the knowledge that we are all getting better.
Have a safe and happy New Years all. I'm glad you're my friends!
love,
beth b.

6:41 a.m. - 2009-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plopphizz
notunique
pojken
fatcatluv
wordwhore
smartypants
unclebob
boombasticat
dr-rndmprsn
smedindy
geoffchaucer
thebeesknees
mittensgirl
ann-frank
juddhole
boyecho
weetabix
inarticulate
ana-ng
bra2002
fridayfilms
saint-louise
squirrelx
twttrmchn
harri3tspy
cactustree
owenmeany99
ninjac
erinlew
monkey-king
bluebarb
junitown
charmcity