Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:05 p.m. - 2022-01-04
This chapter of my life will be titled "tears and cicadas" and bring on the ZOZZ
The funny thing is I thought about this entry all year and yet I missed the deadline. I'm not going to beat myself up about it. I mean, as previously stated, only 7 and a half people read this thing anymore. And yet I think i would be really upset if it went away. I need to figure out a way to save some of these entries I guess.
How was your 2021? Mine was....a lot of extremes. I'm still married (did I tell you I got married? I did. In 2020. to the best dude ever. I can't believe he loves me)
I got a new job this year...I'm working in a small law office. And the weird part? I love it. And the weirder part? They think I should go back to school to be a lawyer. I think that's crazy but maybe I can paralegal. We'll see.
We put a new roof on the house. Well, I mean we paid someone to put a roof on the house. It seems to be working.
With as much death and sickness in the world involving covid, I lost two friends to un-covidy adventures. One was an opioid overdose (he was the brother of my first friend and someone I've known for 43 years even if i haven't seen him in person in almost 20. it's still a shock) and an artist friend here who had undiagnosed metastatic breast cancer. It had metastasized to her liver and kidneys and by the time they found it, it was too late and in two months she was gone.
I still can't believe it.
The weirdest thing is I can't understand where her talent went. All of a sudden this person who could make the most beautiful, joyous paintings is gone and we are supposed to be ok with that? I look out the window sometimes and think about what if her talent is just floating by, invisible, looking for another hand to land on and guide.
It's sure not mine. I took a few classes with her in the last year while we were all sequestered in our houses and I could not do what she did. It was intuitive and ingrained and even 'tho she explained it incredibly well, it was mercurial and I could not get it.
I think about her husband and I just get so sad for him and I feel helpless. What do you do for someone whose life has been pulled out from underneath them in the cruelest way possible? They were such a lovely couple.
Creatively this year was kind of a fart. I fell into this job in early January 2021, and in mid-January I started classes through a college near me, that were online so I would come home from work, study, do my classes, and then make dinner and then fall asleep. Repeat until the end of May.
By then I was getting more hours at work, and I liked it and I decided not to pursue more classes in construction project management which was really, fine with me. Over the summer....I don't know. I guess I played with the cicadas? Honestly this year was so bland, somehow more bland than 2020. OH! The vaccines. Yes. We both got our vaccines and I was so happy i cried and two weeks after my second dose I ran to the nail place to get a pedicure.
My nails guys....Not great.
Oh! We went to chincoteague and I saw some wild ponies and I may have cried with happiness again. I may have done a lot of crying in general this year.
This chapter of my life will be titled "tears and cicadas".
Chincoteague is very very beautiful and I need to go back. Like as often as I can.
The fall had the return of the craft show. I did Art on the Avenue and it felt so good to see people again. and then back at Eastern Market where people seemed appreciative and they actually bought stuff.
But in terms of creating i kind of feel dead. I stopped writing. I stopped doodling. I am so undisciplined now in terms of making and creating and i let my studio get so messy it became almost unworkable. I've been digigng out the last few days and it's better. I just need a giant purge.

So anyway, we're now 4 steps into 2022.Which kind of looks like ZOZZ which I like. Bring on the zozz.
Bring on the fun, and the frolic and the fantastic.
Bring on the long weekends and the short trips and the impromptu get-aways.
Bring on the good pencils and pens that you like and get rid of the ones that skip and smear and slow you down.
Bring on blank notebooks and other books filled with words written by other people that spurn you to write your own.
Bring on comfortable shoes (cause we're never going back to heels) that carry you new places and make new paths.
Bring on a sunday night with your loved ones on the couch watching your favorite shows.
Bring on love, a love so deep it changes your chemistry and makes you believe in soulmates.
Bring on new friends and old friends and time for both.
Bring on 2022....the zozz.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!